No menu items!



Angela Bassett, Mel Brooks, Carol Littleton, Michelle Satter to receive Academy honours

Related Articles

publish press release online

Source: Matt Petit/AMPAS

Oscars 2019 stage

The Academy will present Academy Honorary Awards to Angela Bassett, Mel Brooks and editor Carol Littleton and the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award to the Sundance Institute’s Michelle Satter.

Each will receive an Oscar statuette at the Academy’s 14th Governors Awards event on November 18 at the Fairmont Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

Bassett earned a Oscar nomination last season for Black Panther: Wakanda Forever and received a prior nod for playing Tina Turner in What’s Love Got to Do With It. Her credits include Boyz N The Hood, Malcolm X, Waiting To Exhale, How Stella Got Her Groove Back, Strange Days, and Mission: Impossible – Fallout.

Director, producer, writer and actor Mel Brooks began his career writing comedy routines for Sid Caesar’s television shows and co-created the television series Get Smart. In 1967, Brooks wrote and directed his debut film The producers for which he won an Oscar for the original screenplay. His films include The Twelve Chairs, Blazing Saddles, Young Frankenstein, High Anxiety, and History Of The World – Part I.

Film editor Littleton earned an Oscar nomination in 1982 for E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial and her many credits over a career spanning close to five decades include Body Heat, The Big Chill, Places In The Heart and The Manchurian Candidate.

The Honorary Award, an Oscar statuette, is given “to honor extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy”.

Satter has spent more than 40 years at Sundance Institute and is the founding senior director of the Institute’s artist programmes focused on supporting independent storytellers. She has led the Sundance Institute’s international initiatives in Asia, Europe, India, Latin America and the Middle East, and founded and oversees the vision and content of storytelling and learning platform Sundance Collab.

The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award is also an Oscar statuette and is given “to an individual in the motion picture arts and sciences whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry”.

Academy president Janet Yang said, “Across her decades-long career, Angela Bassett has continued to deliver transcendent performances that set new standards in acting. Mel Brooks’ humor has a lasting effect on all aspects of entertainment. Carol Littleton is a role model for future film editors. A pillar of the independent film community, Michelle Satter has played a vital role in the careers of countless filmmakers around the world.”

  • Cineworld files for administration in the UK as part of restructuring plan

reality tv